owning your data

I was recently interviewed for an article in Forbes magazine and asked what I thought about ‘The Cloud’. There was a typographical error in my response, so here it is corrected. I cannot see why any organization would put all of its data online. The Cloud is just a different term for someone else’s computer,…

integrating personal knowledge mastery

I developed the personal knowledge mastery (PKM) framework for myself, beginning in 2004, as a way to make sense of all the digital information flows around me and to connect with others to improve my practice. In 2012 I was contacted by Domino’s Pizza to help incorporate the PKM framework into their leadership training (PDF)….

meaning and failure

Every fortnight I curate some of the observations and insights that were shared on social media. I call these Friday’s Finds. “Hire character. Train skill.” — Peter Schutz, former CEO of Porsche via @2080strategyex “Human beings augmented by other human beings is more important than human beings augmented by technology” —@eskokilpi “Interesting that there is…

beta conversation 2017-05-18

I will be hosting the next Beta Conversation on Thursday, May 18th at 15:00 UTC [08:00 Pacific, 11:00 Eastern, 16:00 BST, 17:00 CET]. The subject will be understanding the effects of technology. It will focus on examining pervasive and emerging technologies from the perspective of Marshall McLuhan’s media tetrad, as presented here: tetrads for sense-making….

the missing half of training

The training industry is based on models that were developed for the military. The Systems Approach to Training includes the ADDIE [analysis, design, development, implementation, evaluation] model, with variations used throughout industry. Robert Gagne’s Nine Events of Instruction inform much of instructional design. Gagne’s early work was in military training. Other models were developed in…

the uncertain future of training

Training courses are artifacts of a time when resources were scarce and connections were few. That time has passed. The roots of training are to get a lot of people to do the same thing competently. The Roman army trained soldiers for battle and many other duties, like building roads. Standard methods were developed. Drill…

knowledge-sharing, post-technology

Your organization just implemented an enterprise collaboration platform. Now what? Most large organizations today have some kind of knowledge-sharing platform. The recent announcement of Jive’s purchase shows that this field is consolidating with a few large players dominating. The arrival of Workplace by Facebook may even limit tool choice more. For example, Jive sells for…

first we shape our tools

Every fortnight I curate some of the observations and insights that were shared on social media. I call these Friday’s Finds. @wimleers : “We’re building tools for authoritarianism just to get people to click on a shoe ad” — @zeynep at @DrupalConNA #DCzeynep (i.e. @facebook) Automation is transforming work and the US isn’t ready, via…

simplifying the complexity

Complex Problems I like complex problem-solving. Perhaps my most interesting project was when a client gave me a statement of work to ‘simplify the complexity’. I did not have a solution but felt that with my extended networked I would be able to solve their problem. I have explained this project in detail (video) and…

the innovation imperative

“It turns out that to develop a ‘cumulative culture’ – technology that constantly ratchets up in complexity and diversity – a species needs to be able to share information very accurately. It doesn’t matter how much novel invention takes place, unless those inventions are replicated accurately then they die out before they can be built…